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In February 2015, Schweitzer Basin Water LLC filed an Application asking the

Commission for a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity (CPCN), pursuant to Idaho

Code § 61-526. Schweitzer is a privately-owned community water system serving full-time and

part-time residential customers at the Schweitzer Mountain Resort in Bonner County. The

Commission issued a Notice of Application and Notice of Modified Procedure regarding the

CPCN and the Company’s proposed rates. Order No. 33308. In June 2016, after considering the

record, including Staff’s comments and the Company’s reply, the Commission granted

Schweitzer a CPCN and approved rates for delivery of water services. Order No. 33543. The

Order also addressed various non-recurring fees, including a fee for insufficient funds of $30. Id.

at 13.

The Company has worked with Commission Staff to draft a tariff that complies with

Order No. 33543. The Company requests an effective date for its proposed tariff of July 1, 2016.

Staff recommended the Commission approve the proposed effective date, and also raised an

issue for our consideration regarding the Company’s insufficient funds fee, which we now

amend to $20 as discussed below. With this change, we order that the Company’s tariff is

approved and effective as of July 1, 2016.

INSUFFICIENT FUNDS FEE

1. Staff Comments and Company Reply. In Staff’s comments in this case, Staff

noted that a charge for insufficient funds “is allowable under [Idaho Code § 28-22-105],” and

that the Commission has [previously] allowed utility tariffs to identify this type of charge. . .

Comments at 13, citing Order Nos. 32152 (Case No. TRH-W-10-01) and 30938 (Case No. SPL

W-09-01). Staff recommended a charge of $20.

The Company indicated that it “has never had a customer check returned due to

insufficient funds.” See Order No. 33543 at 12. But according to the Company, if a customer

pays a water bill with a check drawn on insufficient funds that the Company then deposits, the
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Company’s bank would charge a fee of $29.85 for the returned check.” Id.; Reply at 5, 7

(Schedule of Fees from Mountain West Bank). The Company would then need to “send a

second invoice, process a second check, and enter it into the billing system again,” thus the

Company proposed that it be allowed to charge customers a $40 fee for a returned check, to

cover bank charges and administrative expenses. Id.

Citing the Company’s $29.85 bank charge, the Commission found that allowing the

Company to charge a $30 insufficient funds fee is “fair, just and reasonable.” Order No. 33543

at 13. The Commission also found that such a fee is “consistent with the Commission’s prior

rulings in similar cases involving ‘returned check charges’ utilized by other small water utilities

in Idaho,” citing Order Nos. 32152 at 10 and 3093$ at 3. Id.

2. Staff Clarification and the Company’s Agreement. Since Order No. 33543 was

issued, Staff has been working with the Company to ensure the tariff complies with the Order

and with applicable law. Staff noted that the $29.85 bank charge, according to the Company’s

attached bank fee schedule, is for a “Return Item Fee” or “Overdraft” by a debit or check paid.

See Reply at 5. The fee for a “deposited item returned” — e.g., a check from a water customer,

deposited by Schweitzer and returned for insufficient funds — is only $4.00. Id. On a recent

inquiry, Staff reported that the bank’s current fee for a deposited item returned has been reduced

to only $2.00.

Staff contacted the Company and clarified the difference between the bank’s return

item fee and deposited item returned fee. As a result of these communications, Staff also noted

that Idaho Code § 28-22-105 not only allows a charge for insufficient funds, but also limits the

charge to no more than $20. Accordingly, the Company has agreed that a $20 fee is appropriate

for customers whose checks are returned due to insufficient funds.

COMMISSION FINDINGS AND DISCUSSION

Pursuant to Idaho Code § 61-624, the “commission may at any time, upon notice to

the public utility affected . . . rescind, alter or amend any order or decision made by it.”

Under Idaho law, the drawer of a check is liable to the holder when the check “has

been dishonored by nonacceptance or nonpayment” and the holder has notified the drawer of that

fact. Idaho Code § 28-22-105. The drawer’s liability to the holder includes interest and the cost

of collection, but such amount shall “not exceed [$20] or the face amount of the check,
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whichever is the lesser.” Id. Our finding in Order No. 33543 regarding an insufficient funds fee

was based on incomplete information regarding the application of this statute.

Based on a full reading of the applicable statute, we must amend our prior finding

allowing the Company to recover $30 as an insufficient funds fee. Consistent with Idaho Code §
28-22-105, we find it reasonable to allow the Company to charge its customers a $20 fee for

checks returned due to insufficient funds. All other findings and conclusions of the Commission

in Order No. 33543 remain unchanged. We therefore approve the Company’s proposed tariff,

which includes a $20 insufficient funds fee, with an effective date of July 1, 2016.

ORDER

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Order No. 33543 is amended to reflect that the

Company is allowed to charge an insufficient funds fee of $20.00, as discussed herein.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Company’s proposed tariff, already submitted

and on file with the Commission, is approved, with an effective date of July 1, 2016.

THIS IS A FTNAL ORDER. Any person interested in this Order may petition for

reconsideration within twenty-one (21) days of the service date of this Order. Within seven (7)

days after any person has petitioned for reconsideration, any other person may cross-petition for

reconsideration. See Idaho Code § 6 1-626.
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DONE by Order of the Idaho Public Utilities Commission at Boise, Idaho this 3f
day of August 2016.

PAUL KJEL , PRESIDENT

tJ±) /fiJ
KRI E RAPER, COM ISSIONER

ERIC ANDERSON, COMMTNER

ATTEST:

Jn D. Jewell U
Commission Secretary

O:SCH-W-15-O1_djh_NSF fee
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